Day 34

image

Day 34:  I have gratitude for the unexpected remembrances of Mom.  While in a store today, I was struck by the strong resemblance of the cashier to Mom.  Although I have become stronger in handling the various reminders of Mom, the similarity in appearance with the cashier knocked me back nearly to tears. I told the woman, fighting back emotion. I even showed her a picture. The thing that shook me to my core was her comment (in sensing my emotion): “I’m so sorry honey. But if you ever need to talk with someone, I’m always here at the store.”  Physical similarity aside, her response was exactly how Mom would have responded.  I wept for a long time in the car afterwards.

This entry was posted in Memories, People. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

